For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption.

(Psalms 16:10) ESV

Sheol refers to life beyond the grave, quite literally an underworld realm of the dead. It’s also modified in a variety of ways which can be grouped to correspond to the regions of the interior of the Earth.

If you’re familiar with older translations like the King James then it’s what you find there translated as hell.

For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.

(Psalms 16:10) KJV

Hell and sheol are the same thing. Newer translations, like the English Standard Version, stay away from using the word hell out of deference to current theories about the internal structure of the Earth. You’re probably well aware that current mainstream beliefs about the interior of the Earth don’t include hell.

Sheol Modifiers

ZoneUsage.. sheol ..
CRUSTThe gravesheol
MANTLEThe belly of hellmibbeten sheol
The midst of helltavek sheol
GREAT GULFThe bars of the pit
(pillars of the earth)
bad sheol
COREHell belowsheol tachath
Lowest hellsheol tachti

That’s unfortunate because even though current theories are a valid interpretation of the available data, they’re not the only valid interpretation of the data. It’s possible to use all existing physical evidence, empirical observations and experimental findings to show that hell is indeed in the center of the Earth.

Sheol is far more than just the grave. It’s modified in ways which are very similar to the ways that erets is modified to describe regions of the interior of the Earth, so much so that the two are harmonious in describing four regions, or levels, which are synonymous with the internal zones of the Earth. The levels of hell are the regions of the interior of the Earth, they’re successively worse torments for successively worse sinners.

The Levels of Hell

LevelGrave (sheol)
Earth (erets)World (tebel)
Mantlemibbeten sheol
tavek sheol
yerekah bowr
tachti erets
erets tachti
mowcadah tebel
Great Gulf
(outer core)
bad sheolerets beriach
matsuq erets
mayim tachath erets
(inner core)
sheol tachti
tachti erets
bowr, shachath
missahat beli
mowcadar erets
– The levels of hell correspond to the four zones of the interior of the Earth.
Cut away of planet Earth

One Reply to “Sheol”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: